“Orphan Black”, Season 5, Episode 9, “One Fettered Slave”

from a forthcoming book… ‘Killer Addicts’

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

I witness your concern over opioids, those
synthetic gods of bliss and the absence
of suicidal pain; where you announce you’re
at war again, and of course it’s winnable,
saying not a word against idiot doctors,
prescribing too little or too much, and the lords
of the rapacious drug companies

In the same way you misdirect, thus confuse
reality for your construct, empathy
towards nicotine levels in tobacco which
you’re not against since you want to allow
the businesses to put in lower levels
so they can boost the price on those products
with more saint nicotine, increasing taxes

Your revenue as usual favoring the few,
eluding the many with confabulistic bullshit
disguising truth with the fog of studies, debate
and statistics manipulated; yet hell, an ordinary
dog is smarter and more honest in its life,
not to mention wise since it won’t lie to itself
about the foreign turd…

View original post 79 more words

Shredded Wheat

No Facilities

The perfect place and beverage to share some casual conversation.

If we were having a beer, you’d be in a foul mood.

“I have a bone to pick with you.”

“Great. Save it for a while, we’ll order some wings later.”

“No, this is personal.”

“Oh geeze, before you guys get into it, could I interest you in an adult beverage. I hear it’s ok to have one every day.”

“Yuengling.”

“Meiomi.”

“Well, there’s a surprise. Who’s got the tab?”

“It’s going to be the man who tried to embarrass me on the Internet.”

“Ooooo-Kay.”

“Hold off on assigning that tab until I have a chance to defend myself. I’m not even sure what I did.”

“There’s no defense. Maybe you aren’t aware, but I read Ellen’s blog.

“I wasn’t aware. I’ve never seen you comment.”

“I don’t comment on blogs, I just read.”

“Lurking in the shadows, huh?…

View original post 535 more words