War Zone

Poet Rummager

going-downIllustration by Ted Giffin

Should I walk away
as your fire burns me?
Not even touching you,
I smolder.
This *Aegis shield I wear
is my frigid icy
stare.
Keep your distance.
Beware.
This battle
of right and wrong
clashes inside –
a war zone
with no chance
for a cease fire.
So, I’ll walk away.
I’ll turn my face.
Frosty, gelid bitch
is what you’ll say.
You’ll never know
beneath the cold,
I’m a raging inferno.

*Aegis shield, according to Greek mythology, belonged to goddess Athena and was made from the skin of a slain Gorgon.

tomatowitchccardupdatenew

View original post

Leave a Reply

