Being busy…

cassiellensecretstory

So, I haven’t been very active on my blog this year at all, and for that I am sorry. I guess I have been feeling a bit defeated and a little overwhelmed. Life just gets so God dam busy, doesn’t it? Honestly, I don’t know where the time goes. How is it May 2017 already?

Although I have some great reviews on the book already, as most of you know getting reviews is hard. It’s exhausting. Add to that family, friends, six nieces and nephews, three cats and two jobs, and I don’t seem to be able to find the time to continue writing book two. Something has to give, and for the past few months it has unfortunately been my blog and communication with you guys (my online family).

So, I guess I need to decide what I do from here, do I continue with book two? Or do…

View original post 48 more words

Houston Inn a sure bet for a quiet supper

City Skipper Gal

20170316_193310

My husband has fond memories of this place because he used to eat here with his father. So, when he asked if I wanted to try it, I said, why not. Since that day, we’ve been back three or four times. It’s always quiet and intimate- which makes it really nice.

When walking in, it’s very dark – in decor and illumination. It’s an old place and was probably built when really dark wood was the “in thing”. So, don’t expect a place that will “brighten your day” with bright decor – that won’t happen here. But, after adjusting your eyes, the first thing you will notice is a large salad bar – which is offered free with any meal. This salad bar is unlike many as it has items such as delicious deviled eggs, occasional chilled shrimp, pasta salad, pudding, cole slaw and more.

The menu offers meals such…

View original post 207 more words

The Borders – RAF Charterhall (Part 2)

Aviation Trails

Following on from Part 1 of Trail 41 – The Borders, we return to Charterhall in the beginning of 1943.

During the Battle of Britain many pilots suffered from burns in aircraft fires and crashes. The famous ‘Guinea Pig club’ became synonymous with those men who underwent experimental techniques in reconstructive skin work carried out by of Archibald McIndoe at the Queen Victoria Hospital, East Grinstead in Sussex. Some of these men wrote about their experiences, and one, Flight Lieutenant Richard Hillary, sadly lost his life at Charterhall.

Hillary arrived here in November 1942 – after two long years of surgery and hospitalisation. Writing about his experiences in ‘The Last Enemy‘ he opted for night fighter training and was posted to Charterhall. Still disfigured, he had virtually no experience in night flying and none on twin-engined aircraft.

RAF Charterhall One of two remaining hangars.

The controls of the Blenheim were awkward and difficult to…

View original post 749 more words