Writers’ Critique Groups

Myths of the Mirror

I just had the great pleasure of visiting my old writer’s critique group, a few people who became dear friends over the five years I was part of the group. It seems a good time to revisit the importance of peer feedback:

My first book was a masterpiece, of course. I poured my heart onto the pages, begged my family to read it, and labored over revisions until it was undeniably sublime. Then I sent my newborn tome to agents and publishers, certain they’d coo with delight and sign me up with a fat advance. The result: Reject…Reject…Reject…Reject…Reject…

“What went wrong?” silly, starry-eyed me asked, a clueless look on my face. Little did I know (literally).

I discovered the answer to that question when I joined a writers’ critique group. With tender support and pointed criticism, my peers taught me that my baby was far from beautiful. Apparently, I…

View original post 840 more words

2 thoughts on “Writers’ Critique Groups”

  1. I had this happen to my novel as well. I didn’t have a critique group, but I had some critique partners who said about the same thing. My novel has transformed over the months thanks to them. With the help of my blog too, I may be able to publish soon. (Ish).

    Like

Leave a Reply

