FEMINIST FRIDAY

Haddon Musings

“I want to do something splendid…something heroic or wonderful that won’t be forgotten after I’m dead. I don’t know what, but I’m on the watch for it and mean to astonish you all someday.”
― Louisa May Alcott, Little Women

I remember reading those words when I was a young girl and holding Little Women to my heart.  At last I thought there is someone like me who wants to be independent and write and conquer the world and won’t be told that a “girl” can’t do it.

It was the anniversary of Louisa May Alcott’s birth on November 29.  Here is her story.

My book came out; and people began to think that
topsy-turvy Louisa would amount to something after all …

-Louisa May Alcott, 1855

Louisa May Alcott was born in Germantown, Pennsylvania on November 29, 1832. She and her three sisters, Anna, Elizabeth, and May, were educated…

View original post 461 more words

Leave a Reply

